

#### **MEMBERS**

**Candace Andersen** County Member

Michael R. McGill Special District Member Rob Schroder City Member Igor Skaredoff

#### **ALTERNATE MEMBERS**

**Diane Burgis** County Member Sharon Burke Public Member

> Tom Butt City Member

**Stanley Caldwell** Special District Member

December 13, 2017 Agenda Item 10

Lou Ann Texeira Executive Officer

Donald A. Blubaugh Public Member Federal Glover County Member

Special District Member

Don Tatzin Citv Member

December 13, 2017 (Agenda)

Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission 651 Pine Street. Sixth Floor Martinez, CA 94553

# **Commissioner Terms - 2018**

Dear Members of the Commission:

This is an update regarding Commissioner terms and the process for filling vacancies.

The authority and procedures for appointing Commissioners are set forth in the Cortese Knox Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 (CKH). All terms of office on LAFCO are four years, expiring on the first Monday in May, unless otherwise specified.

In May 2018, the terms of four Commissioners will expire: County members Diane Burgis and Federal Glover, and Special District members Igor Skaredoff and Stan Caldwell. In addition, at the November 8, 2017 LAFCO meeting, Alternate Public Member Sharon Burke announced that effective January 1, 2018, she will be stepping down as a LAFCO Commissioner.

The selection process per the CKH and Commission policies for the County, Special District and Public members is summarized below:

*County Members* – appointed by the Board of Supervisors. LAFCO staff will coordinate with the County regarding the upcoming vacancies, and report back to the Commission following the appointments. The Board of Supervisors typically makes its appointments in January each year.

Special District Members - selected by the Independent Special District Selection Committee through the local chapter of the Special Districts Association. LAFCO staff will conduct the election in conjunction with the Contra Costa Special Districts Association, and report back to the Commission following the election in April 2018.

*Public Members* - appointed by the other members of the commission subject to the affirmative vote of at least one of the members selected by each of the other appointing authorities (i.e., city, county, special district). The public member must be a resident of the County, and cannot be a current board member, officer, or employee of the County, a city or special district located in this county.

With prior Public Member vacancies, the Commission has followed the selection process provided for in the Commissioner Handbook (see attached) which includes a public announcement of the vacancy and appointment of a screening committee.

In accordance with local policy, the LAFCO Chair appoints the screening committee, consisting of one city member, one county member and one special district member. The committee is charged with screening the applications and providing a recommendation to the full Commission.

The recommended timeline for completing the recruitment and appointing the new public member is as follows:

- December 18, 2017 Announcement appears on the Contra Costa LAFCO website and in local newspapers
- ✤ January 18, 2018 Recruitment closes
- ✤ January 31, 2018 Screening committee completes review of applications and determines which applicants to interview
- ✤ February 2018 Screening committee conducts interviews and develops a recommendation
- March 14, 2018 Commission considers applicants, screening committee's recommendation, and make the appointment

#### RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that 1) the Commission receive this report; 2) the Chair appoint the screening committee; and 3) the Commission direct staff to move forward with the recruitment to fill the Alternate Public Member seat in accordance with the timeline as recommended or as amended by the Commission.

Sincerely,

LOU ANN TEXEIRA EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Attachment – Commissioner Handbook - Section 1.2 - Membership

# **1.2 MEMBERSHIP (EXCERPT)**

#### A. <u>Selection and Terms of Office</u>

The authority and procedures for appointing members of the Commission are set forth in the CKH Act. All terms of office on LAFCO are for four years, expiring on the first Monday in May, unless procedures adopted by the Commission specify an alternative date to apply uniformly to all members.

## 1) City Members

The two regular City members and one alternate member must be members of a city council during the time they serve. They are chosen by, and serve at the pleasure of, the City Selection Committee (Contra Costa County Mayors Conference). (§§56325, 56335)

The Committee consists of the mayor of each city. In the absence of the mayor another member of that city council may be appointed to attend and vote in place of the mayor.

City Selection Committee meetings are open to the public. The Clerk of the Board of Supervisors serves as the secretary and recording officer, per statute.

2) County Members

The two regular County members and one alternate member must be county supervisors when they serve. They are appointed by, and serve at the pleasure of, the Board of Supervisors.

### 3) Special District Members

The two regular special district members and one alternate member must be members of the governing board of an independent special district while they serve. They are chosen by, and serve at the pleasure of, the Special District Selection Committee.

The Committee consists of the presiding officer of each independent special district in the county, and its meetings are open to the public. The LAFCO Executive Officer calls and gives notice of these Committee meetings, per statute.

4) Public Members

The one regular public member and one alternate member are appointed by, and serve at the pleasure of, the regular city, county and special district members of the Commission.

5) Selection of Public and Alternate Public Members

The method for selecting public members is determined by the City, County and Special District members. At least four affirmative votes are required to appoint the public members, and there must be at least one vote from each of the other member categories: City, County and Special District.

Unless the Commission gives alternative direction, the following procedure is used to recruit and select public members of Contra Costa LAFCO.

# Public Member Recruitment Process

- Public announcement of the vacancy.
- Committee appointed by the Chair, consisting of a City member, County member and Special District member, screens applications and letters of interest.
- A committee composed of part or all of the Commission conducts interviews of selected applicants.
- The committee makes recommendations to the Commission.
- The Commission may conduct subsequent interviews and make a selection.

The use of any alternative selection process requires at least four affirmative votes, and there must be at least one vote from each of the other member categories: City, County and Special District.

A public member who is appointed following the Public Member Recruitment Process may be reappointed under an alternative selection procedure once. Any subsequent reappointments require use of the Public Member Recruitment Process.